The state of Virginia requires motorists to provide proof of United States citizenship or legal residence in order to obtain a drivers’ license or identification card. The Commonwealth is like most states in the country that demand such proof before it will issues a license. In fact, only New Mexico and Washington award licenses without Social Security numbers or proof of legal presence.
However, this doesn’t stop many unlicensed drivers from getting behind the wheel and driving. Along with being unlawful, the act is also dangerous, as many of these motorists aren’t aware of the state’s driving laws, didn’t take the proper tests needed in order to drive, and don’t understand English—making it hard to read road signs.
Penalties for Undocumented Immigrants Driving Without Licenses
An undocumented immigrant found driving down Route 66, Interstate 495, or any road in the Fairfax area could be subject to:
- Fines. The first time you are found driving without a license, you face a $1,000 fine. If caught again, the fee is $2,500.
- Jail time. Those who are charged with a first offense can spend up to six months in jail and 12 months for subsequent offenses.
- License suspension. Those found guilty can have their licenses suspended for 90 days.
- Demerit points. Driving without a license also puts three demerit points on your license and will stay on your DMV record for three years, but stays on your record permanently.
- Deportation. Undocumented immigrants could face deportation if found guilty, particularly if they have a history of criminal activity.
We Want to Help
People get behind the wheel without licenses for a variety of reasons, including getting to work in order to provide for their families. We understand and want to help.
If you are charged with driving without a license, the Easley Law Firm may be able to help. Contact us today to speak with an attorney about your situation and find out what we can try to do for you.