It was a Friday night, and you were ready to finally be able to make it home. You never thought of work as being particularly pleasant, but this week made the word “miserable” seem fun. You ended up having to work late, which you were unhappy about, but at least it made you miss rush hour traffic—which is usually another aggravation, particularly on Route 50.
You were so focused on getting home and relaxing from the work week that you weren’t paying attention to how fast you were driving. That is, at least, until you saw the flashing lights of a police car in your rearview mirror. You slowed down, pulled over on the shoulder, and waited for the officer to come to your window. When he did, you received the usual, “Do you know how fast you were driving?”—you did not.
All About Reckless Driving Speeding
The officer stated you were driving 84 mph, which is not only well above the speed limit, but unlawful.
- Drivers are prohibited from driving above 80 mph. According to Virginia law, drivers shall not exceed 80 mph when driving. If they are caught doing so, they can be charged with reckless driving speeding. Even if the posted speed limit is 70 mph and you drive 81 mph—a mere 11 miles over the speed limit—you can receive the reckless driving charge.
- Reckless driving speeding is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. In Virginia, a Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious of driving misdemeanor charges. Those who are convicted can face a maximum of 12 months of jail time and fines not exceeding $2,500.
You Need a Lawyer on Your Side
When facing serious reckless driving charges, you’ll need the help of an experienced, knowledgeable attorney fighting on your side. If you decide to fight the charges alone, you’ll likely receive a far worse sentence than you would with the help of an attorney.
The attorneys of the Easley Law Firm have helped many drivers with their reckless driving cases, and we may be able to do the same for you. Contact us today to speak with an attorney about your situation.