We’ve all heard stories of drunken college students arrested for urinating in public ending up on the national sex offender registry. Or how about the 13-year-old who was forced to register for giving a classmate too many hugs? Because these offenses fall under state law, what is considered a sex offense in one state may not in another state. Virginia takes the sex offender registry very seriously and, for the most part, only clear-cut sex crimes result in a convicted offender being required to register. It is important to understand what constitutes a sex crime in Virginia.
What Is Considered Sexual Assault in Virginia?
In Virginia, the following actions are considered to be sexual offenses and are subject to full penalties at the court’s discretion:
- Rape: non-consensual sex.
- Sexual assault: sexual actions performed against another’s will through force.
- Sexual battery: consensual intercourse whereupon consent was forced by abuse of power, situation, or intimidation.
- Infected sexual battery: consensual sex whereupon instigator is fully aware that he or she is infected with an STD.
- Incest: consensual or non-consensual intercourse or sexual relations with a relative.
- Indecent liberties with child: indecent exposure to a minor with the intent to have that child act in some way.
- Indecent liberties by child: indecent exposure by a minor (between ages 13-17) toward a child less than 14 years old.
- Sexual delinquency of a minor: consensual intercourse between a minor (15 to 17) and an adult (18 or older).
- Stalking: unwanted conduct directed at another person with the intent to place that person in reasonable fear of death, criminal sexual assault, or bodily injury.
No matter what sex offense you are charged with, you will need an attorney at your side. Call us to discuss your case. Don’t try to go it alone. Call us at 888-386-3898 now.