You were driving on Interstate 95 to meet your friends for a movie at Cinema Arts Theatres. You were running late, but because you were aware of Virginia’s strict driving rules, you were careful not to drive over 80 mph because you could receive charges for reckless driving. As you maintained the legal speed limit, the person behind you started tailgating your car and beeping his horn—then began flashing his lights at you. You moved over into the next lane to get away when he pulled up next to you and began yelling and making hand gestures.
All of this commotion caused you to become extremely stressed. So much so that you had to pull over on the side of the road once he sped away from you. Unfortunately, many motorists are the victims of aggressive drivers.
The Penalties for Taking Your Anger Out on the Road
If you decide to drive aggressively—speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, tailgating—know that you are subject to penalties. Virginia treats aggressive driving as a Class 2 Misdemeanor. Those found guilty of driving in this manner can face serious penalties, such as:
- License suspension
- Points on your license
- Having to attend an aggressive driving program
- Up to six months in jail
- Fines up to $1,000
- Increased premiums on car insurance due to the penalties on your license
Aggressive driving that is intended to cause harm to another person is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor, and results in additional charges and penalties.
The Easley Law Firm Wants to Help
With the help of the right attorney, your aggressive driving charge could be dropped to something less serious, such as the civil traffic penalty of improper driving. The attorneys of the Easley Law Firm are well-versed in Virginia traffic laws and have helped many motorists in the Fairfax area with their cases. Contact us today to see if we can do the same for you.